Will the New Jersey MVC accept my New Jersey Online Defensive Driving certificate?

Yes, we are approved in New Jersey.

How does your New Jersey Online Defensive Driving Course work?

  1. Register for the course. Start by selecting New Jersey from the list. Then enter your name, mailing address, etc.
  2. Start Lesson 1. At the end of each lesson you will take a short quiz. Take the quizzes as many times as you need to pass.
  3. Pass the final exam. after you complete the last lesson. Answer only 80% correct and you pass! Take the final exam as many times as you need to pass.
  4. Certificate delivery We will notify the New Jersey MVC for your 2-point reduction. For your insurance discount, download your certificate as a PDF that you can email or mail to your insurance agentIt's that easy!

Does your New Jersey Defensive Driving course replace the need to go to a classroom for 6 hours?

Yes, you do not need to attend a classroom. You can complete the course online, anywhere, anytime.

How many points will be removed from my driver record by taking this New Jersey MVC approved course?

The New Jersey MVC will reduce 2 points from your driver record. Note: The NJ MVC has informed us that they can take from 4-6 weeks or more to process student information once they receive it.

Do I get an insurance discount by taking your online New Jersey defensive driving course?

Yes, in New Jersey you are entitled by law to an auto insurance discount when you complete our course. Upon completion of the course, you can instantly download your insurance certificate as a PDF from our site. Contact your insurance company for how they will accept delivery (typically via email or regular mail).

How does the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission know I completed your course?

Once you complete the course we will notify the New Jersey MVC within 10 business days so you can get your 2-point credit.

How long will the New Jersey MVC take to process my information?

Although we cannot speak for the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission, they have told us that they can take from 4-6 weeks or more to process student information once they receive it.

How can I check my New Jersey driving record with the MVC?

One way to check your point status is to log in to your MVC account  here.

How long does the New Jersey Online Defensive Driving course take?

The New Jersey MVC requires all students spend at least five hours on our New Jersey online defensive driving course. A timer will count your time spent reviewing the lessons. Note that you cannot take the final exam until you have spent at five hours reviewing the course.

Do I have to take the course all at once? Can I use different computers?

Many students choose to spread the course out over a week or more. And yes, you can use any web-connected computer from virtually any location. Rest assured you can follow whatever method works for your schedule.

What payment options do I have?

We accept VISA, MasterCard, American Express, Discover Card, or a bank debit card. You may also pay with PayPal. Note that you do NOT need a PayPal account to pay with a credit card.

How many chances do I get to pass the final?

You may attempt to pass the quizzes and final exam as many times as you wish.

What score do I need to pass the quizzes and final exam?

For quizzes you must answer all questions 100% correctly. For the final you need to answer only 80% of the questions correctly. Take them as many times as you need to pass.

Why do the quizzes have questions that do not relate to driving safety?

The New Jersey MVC requires that we ask "security questions" in quizzes and the final exam. The questions cannot be guessed; you will know the answers only if you read the text. 
You will find the security phrases sprinkled randomly in the lessons. They are obvious and not driving related. Example: "The boy's toy fire engine was yellow." Or "Mary wanted a puppy for her birthday."

What is ID Verification?

New Jersey requires students to prove their identities. This is known as ID Verification. It is an easy-to-follow process with clear instructions.  
THIS IS NOT A CREDIT CHECK: Note that ID verification is not a credit check and your credit score will not be affected. 

How often may I attend a New Jersey Online Defensive Driving course?

The New Jersey MVC will recognize a defensive driving course only once every five years for point reduction (N.J.S.A. 39:5-30.9)

What if I decide to cancel your New Jersey Online Defensive Driving course?

We take your happiness seriously. Please review our website and ask any questions you might have prior to purchase. If you are unhappy, for any reason, please call us and we will do everything we can to make you a life-long customer. If you're still not satisfied, for any reason, within 30 days you get a full refund, period, no questions asked. We don't want your money if you're not totally happy.

Is my information secure and private?

Yes. We follow industry best practices for both security and privacy. We do not disclose your personal information to anyone, except as required by law. 

Example Exam Question

After it first rains the roads become slick because…

  •  Oil and dirt have not yet washed away
  •  A thin film of plastic covers all roadways
  •  Concealed ice sheets cover the roadway
  •  Rain vaporizes into oxygen and hydrogen
100% Satisfaction Guarantee

We take your happiness seriously. If you're not satisfied, for any reason, within 30 days you get a full refund, period, no questions asked. We don't want your money if you're not totally happy.